Skip to content


What Is Remediation in Vedic Astrology and How Is It Used?

Last year, I switched from exclusively practicingWestern Astrology to primarily practicing Jyotish (Vedic astrology) – and remediation is one of the key reasons why I have chosen to do so. Since my clients often only know Western astrology, if they know much about astrology at all, I always have to give a little spiel first explaining what remediation is and what it can offer them. To offer potential clients a little pre-reading info, as well as share my knowledge with anyone else who might be interested in Jyotish and remediation, I thought I’d write this little post.  So here goes.…

Leave a Comment

Why Signs Sometimes Change in Vedic Astrology

People who know their natal chart in the Western astrology are often shocked and/or even highly sceptical when they find out their planets or ascendant are suddenly in a different sign in the Vedic system. In fact, I almost called this post “But I’m a Sagittarius, not a Scorpio! (said with a hint of desperation)” This tendency is so strong that I don’t always mention the names of the signs when giving a Vedic reading, especially if the Sun, Moon or ascendant have changed (people don’t seem to be as attached to the sign their Mercury, Venus or Mars are…

Leave a Comment

The Theory of Karma and How it Relates to Vedic Astrology

Just about everybody has heard of karma, but what exactly is the philosophy behind it, and why is it important in Vedic astrology? Here’s a little lowdown on the basics of what you need to know – as well as some my thoughts if you’re struggling with this concept. The four types of karma Karma refers to the idea that the actions of a person in their past lives have an effect on their current life, and that their actions in this life will have an effect on their future lives.  However, the theory of karma is much more complex…

Leave a Comment

The Four Pillars of Life According to Vedic Astrology

The houses in a natal chart cover all aspects of our lives, but the four pillars that describe the essence of what we are include the first house (self), the 4th house (home, heart and happiness), the 7th house (partner) and the 10th house (career and reputation). In Western astrology, these are called the angular houses and in Jyotish (Vedic astrology) they are called the Kendras. In Jyotish, each Kendra forms a trine with two other houses, and this combination is regarded as a whole. Here are each of the trines and what they stand for. The Dharma trines  In Vedic astrology, the houses 1, 5…

Leave a Comment

What is astrological magic and how can I create talismans?

Astrological magic is the art of creating talismans or petitions based on planetary or stellar energy, correspondences and exact timing techniques. Without getting too far into the history of things (a good source to dive into that is here), the idea is that the energy of the planets in the celestial realm is reflected in the material world here on Earth.  For example, the Jupiter stands for abundance, wealth and good fortune, but his energy can also be found in certain herbs and plants (e.g. sage, nutmeg, hyssop, sandalwood), certain gemstones (e.g. crystal, citrine, yellow sapphire), metals (tin) and so forth.…

Leave a Comment

Four Ways Vedic Astrology is Different than Western Astrology

Jyotish (Vedic astrology) and Western astrology are by no means completely different from each other. After all, both (likely) emerged out of Mesopotamia in the 3rd millennium BC, Jyotish developing in India and Western astrology in Hellenistic Greece.  With the exception of the lunar nodes (more on that later) the planets are more or less the same in both systems, and the house system is also largely identical in both systems, as are the elements, air, water, earth and fire (although Jyotish adds a fifth one called Akash, or “space”). However, many other aspects of these systems are different –…

Leave a Comment